ResToronto Reviews >> Mississauga Restaurants >> Axia Restaurant & Bar Restaurant Reviews


Axia Restaurant & Bar, Mississauga: Reviews



5045 Plantation Place
Mississauga, ON
(905) 608 - 2942
Cuisine: Asian
8.3
Overall
49 review(s)
8.5Food
8Service
9.1Atmosphere
4.7Average Wait
$5 - $14Average Price


Incorrect restaurant information? Contact us and let us know.

10 Reviewed by (Age Under 18) on 2012-11-16
Lunch with a party of 10+; waited 0 minute(s).
10Food 10Service 10Atmosphere
Love this place. If ur in Sauga definitely check it out. Good food, chillin friendly vibe, prices that don't hurt the wallet and a good range of items on the menu. Got it's own unique feeling, can't really compare it to anywhere else... maybe an Asian Marche?




Visit again? Yes


9 Reviewed by (Age 26 - 39) on 2012-04-23
Lunch with a party of 3; waited 20 minute(s).
8Food 9Service 10Atmosphere
I was here with my kids during a rainy afternoon. Almost didn't come out since it was cold and it felt like it was snowing. Anyways i digress. the food was really good. first time i have tried the chicken pad thai, and my kids had the bento. the atmosphere was really nice and quite, but of course that comes down to being the only few guests there during the lunch period. Axia had some great tunes, stuff that brought me back to my younger days. my server was really nice and helpful, she help cleared out some questions i had with the food i wanted to try out. wish i could remember her name...overall the lunch experience was great and i would definitely come back here with the whole family or maybe some buddies.


Visit again? Yes


10 Reviewed by (Age 40 - 59) on 2012-01-29
Dinner with a party of 2; waited 0 minute(s).
10Food 10Service 10Atmosphere
We drove by this place so many times and finally decided to drive over to give it a try. The interior is unlike anywhere we've been both in and out of Toronto. It's like you're sitting outside on a patio somewhere which is nice when you have to deal with Canadian weather.

The sushi was fresh and the quality of the fish was much higher than some of these "all-you-can-eat" quantity places. Chinese was authentic and no MSG which was nice. Servers were helpful, price was good, we'll be back.

Josie



Visit again? Yes


10 Reviewed by (Age 26 - 39) on 2011-06-28
Dinner with a party of 3; waited 2 minute(s).
9Food 9Service 10Atmosphere
Nice atmosphere, very chill and perfect for relaxing with the family and friends. Good prices, great taste = good times!


Visit again? Yes


10 Reviewed by (Age 26 - 39) on 2011-02-27
Dinner with a party of 4; waited 1 minute(s).
10Food 10Service 10Atmosphere
Great food. The sushi was top notch and the prices were very reasonable. Sizzling plate tenderloin was just about the best I've had. Top it off with the immaculate decor and it's a great neighbourhood Asian place to frequent. 5 stars.


Visit again? Yes


9 Reviewed by (Age Over 60) on 2011-02-27
Lunch with a party of 2; waited 0 minute(s).
9Food 9Service 10Atmosphere
We ate mostly from the Chinese menu and everything was steaming hot and better than expected. Comfortable dining area with a resort type of feel. Me and Verna love it and we'll be back for sure.


Visit again? Yes


10 Reviewed by (Age 26 - 39) on 2010-12-20
Dinner with a party of 7; waited 0 minute(s).
10Food 10Service 10Atmosphere
Wonderful food and great sushi for Mississauga. We love the look and feel of Axia, great for the family and a nice place for a date. Chinese food is good as well. No MSG which is important for us. Great service as well.


Visit again? Yes


3 Reviewed by (Age 19 - 25) on 2010-11-02
Dinner with a party of 10+; waited 45 minute(s).
2Food 1Service 6Atmosphere
My sister decided to celebrate her birthday at Axia since she has been there a couple of times and "enjoys their food". I found the decor very modern and nice. Looks very welcoming from the outside but that is not why my sister brought us there. There was a party of about 20 of us and we were seated in a large row. Our server visited our table 30 minutes after we arrived & I find that very slow considering I used to be a server myself at another asian restaurant. She ordered our drinks, went to the computer, then ordered our apps, went to the computer and then finally our Entrees. A total of 45 minutes of taking our orders. She could've just took our drinks and apps together and then Entrees to save some time. Me and my one other friend decided to share so we decided not to get an appetizer and only order one dish. When we received our Entrees, I was so disappointed because the portion size was so little, not enough for two-three people. I had also ordered a Bubble Tea and because of the slow service, by the time I recieved it, it was already watered down. I will never come to Axia ever again!


Visit again? No


9 Reviewed by (Age 26 - 39) on 2010-06-23
Dinner with a party of 4; waited 3 minute(s).
10Food 9Service 10Atmosphere
Excellent food. Our server was helpful and courteous. Great look and feel, a good place for a date or social function. Clean and inviting and most of all, a unique place unlike any other I can think of in all of the GTA (sort of like an indoor/outdoor patio/village feel if that makes sense).


Visit again? Yes


5 Reviewed by (Age 26 - 39) on 2010-06-06
Dinner with a party of 3; waited 10 minute(s).
7Food 3Service 7Atmosphere
We used to frequent this restaurant a couple times a month due to it's good prices and sushi. However, we have stopped going to this restaurant due to the poor level of service. Be careful when ordering any of their daily specials as they do not honour the advertised pricing and make excuses for not doing so, when you bring it to their attention.


Visit again? No


9 Reviewed by (Age 26 - 39) on 2010-03-25
Dinner with a party of 5; waited 0 minute(s).
10Food 8Service 9Atmosphere
Okay..I'm pretty picky when it comes to Asian food. There's not a lot of places that I've been to for Asian food that I plan to visit again. However, my first experience at Axia was so good that I've been there 3 since my first visit (about a month ago). I'm not a regular at any restaurant - main reason being that I'm always looking for something new to try. FOOD: I love, love Axia's crispy fish with black bean sauce and I've had it every single time I've visited. I know they have a huge menu and I'll eventually get around to tasting other mains.. but for now, I'm going to stick with what I like. SERVICE: Service is decent. It's friendly and it's quick. PRICE: It's very reasonable (especially if you're doing cash take-out). :p Also, they have really nice washrooms! I can totally see myself becoming a regular.


Visit again? Yes


10 Reviewed by (Age Over 60) on 2010-03-24
Lunch with a party of 5; waited 0 minute(s).
10Food 10Service 10Atmosphere
We go to Axia for lunch regularly. They treat us old ladies nice and the food is good and goes down easy. Some of the Chinese is a little greasy at times, but the food is cooked with a lot of oil, so that's just how it is. Sushi is good, we haven't tried the advanced sushi yet, but we are excited to give it a go. Everything on the menu is simply wonderful. Axia is so beautiful. Relaxing to sit in and really one of our favourite places to dine.


Visit again? Yes


10 Reviewed by (Age 40 - 59) on 2010-03-08
Dinner with a party of 3; waited 0 minute(s).
10Food 10Service 10Atmosphere
No wait to get seated. Food is very good, we all liked our dishes. Service was nice. Best of all the price was right. First time around, we expected so-so food since the menu was priced so low. The sushi is actually better than most local places and the Chinese tastes as good or better than the competition. So you can't beat Axia when you take all those things into consideration. To top it off the atmosphere gets a 10 out of 10. Really well thought out and the kids just love it!


Visit again? Yes


8 Reviewed by (Age 19 - 25) on 2010-01-25
Dinner with a party of 2; waited 20 minute(s).
9Food 3Service 7Atmosphere
Food at Axia is great, however the service is crap. If you try to make any revision to the menu they often times don't get the revision correct. Staff are inattentive, sometimes rude and slow, however I visit quite often as the food is delicious and well priced! Bottom line, if you can deal with a little rudeness its worth going. Some staff are incredible but I do not recommend Ricky or Judy.


Visit again? Yes


10 Reviewed by (Age 19 - 25) on 2010-01-11
Dinner with a party of 5; waited 5 minute(s).
10Food 10Service 10Atmosphere
Great value and the food is always good no matter what you order. We've been here about 10+ times now, tried over half the menu, and have never had a negative experience. People who write bad reviews about this place are most likely the competition in disguise :P


Visit again? Yes


9 Reviewed by (Age 26 - 39) on 2010-01-11
Dinner with a party of 4; waited 5 minute(s).
10Food 9Service 9Atmosphere
Great Food, Great Selection and friendly staff. I think they have some new management and staff there that are a lot better than before. The selection at Axia is fantastic. They have all sorts of Asian cuisine including Japanese, Chinese, Thai and Korean, so it works well since i can mix and match my favourites. I ordered fish with blackbean sauce and spent an extra few bucks on a sushi roll, the dynamite roll. I had to wait a bit to be seated, but the place was rather busy. I didn't mind though cause there was a tv to catch the leaf game by the bar. Will definitely come back to check out the rest of the menu


Visit again? Yes


2 Reviewed by (Age 19 - 25) on 2010-01-03
Dinner with a party of 2; waited 30 minute(s).
6Food 1Service 8Atmosphere
Wow sitting in axia right now cracking jokes about the service with the hubby..well to begin our experience here wasn't one of the best..service to start off was far to slow 20 mins in someone finally paid attention to us 10 mins in we got our drinks One of which had a HAIR in it!! Ugh gross not to mention the rice also had a hair in it. Drinks were made wrong..food over priced not worth it...I strongly agree with one person that wrote a review that said the staff does pay way more attention to race "white race" that is. Not comin bck EVER!!!!


Visit again? No


10 Reviewed by (Age 26 - 39) on 2009-12-13
Lunch with a party of 4; waited 0 minute(s).
10Food 9Service 10Atmosphere
Finally stopped in to check out Axia. Lunch specials were a steal at $6.88, $8.88 and $10.88! Teriyaki was above average and the curry was something special. Dim Sum was a nice touch and delicious... The interior decor here is awesome and the mix of Asian music was soothing and unique. Waiters could improve their engrish a little, but they gave it their best. Will be back soon.


Visit again? Yes


2 Reviewed by (Age 19 - 25) on 2009-09-24
Dinner with a party of 2; waited 10 minute(s).
4Food 1Service 6Atmosphere
The first time I was at Axia is the service was good so I decided to come back. But this time coming back, the service was bad. I think Axia should do something about their service and not be bias against race. I felt they treat a particular race very well and not their own. They should change their style of service and treat everyone equally well.


Visit again? No


10 Reviewed by (Age 26 - 39) on 2009-05-08
Dinner with a party of 6; waited 0 minute(s).
10Food 7Service 10Atmosphere
My favorite restaurant in the GTA and the best Malaysian curry you will find ANYWHERE. Service isn't top notch but they do try but the quality of the food will keep you coming back. Gyozas are super addictive, sushis are great, curries are the best around, also best strawberry banana smoothie around. Only thing n the menu that isn't good is the pho. But with such an extensive menu of amazing affordable food, I can live with that. Lost track of the times I've come back. Did I say the curry is to die for? LOL


Visit again? Yes


9 Reviewed by (Age 26 - 39) on 2009-02-02
Dinner with a party of 4; waited 5 minute(s).
9Food 9Service 10Atmosphere
Nice little Asian restaurant. We were pleasantly surprised by the friendly service and food quality. No MSG was important for us since we like to eat healthy. I reccomend this place for enthusiasts of Sushi, Thai and Chinese food (the Korean menu was a little too small to remember).


Visit again? Yes


3 Reviewed by (Age 40 - 59) on 2009-01-09
Dinner with a party of 4; waited 0 minute(s).
3Food 7Service 8Atmosphere
We had take out from Axia tonight based on reccomendations from colleagues at work. Big mistake! That was the worst Chinese food that I have had in years!!! Small portions, very little meat, over-cooked rice, burnt fried noodles, weak attempt at upscale Asian food. This place doesn't hold a candle to "real" Chinese food restaurants in the area like Summit Garden. We would never return to Axia...


Visit again? No


10 Reviewed by (Age 26 - 39) on 2008-12-14
Dinner with a party of 2; waited 0 minute(s).
10Food 10Service 10Atmosphere
Well, i came to this site trying to select a nice restaurant to take my girlfriend to. Were in a long distance relationship so we make it count when we do see each other. I was concerned going into Axia from a few bad reviews. Heres whet the reality is for a Sataurday night at 8:30pm reservation... Sat immediatly. Nice window seating in an atmosphere my girlfriend refered to as "Sitting on a patio in Japan". We started dinner with a Blueberry Martini (girlfriend) and a Perfect Martini. (me) The drinks were prompt and delicious. Appitizers of "Axia Vegetarian Springrolls" and Beef and Chicken skewers each with their own wonderful hot dipping sauce. They were amazing. I had no idea that "chinese" food could be so wonderful. For an entree, I read a review for Tai Green Chicken curry so thats what I ordered. INCREDIBLE. DELICIOUS. My Girlfriend chose Chicken Pineapple Fried Rice. It was also amazing. Im a very picky man. I truly can say, Axia has a winner on there hands and for the speed and quality of the food, I was blown away impressed. Also, everything was piping hot. Service was perfect and my server earned a 15 dollar tip on our wonderful CHEEP $65 dinner. Bravo Axia. Thank you so much for making our dinner PERFECT. We will be back 100%


Visit again? Yes


9 Reviewed by (Age 19 - 25) on 2008-12-08
Dinner with a party of 3; waited 5 minute(s).
9Food 9Service 10Atmosphere
Axia is a nice change of scene from the typical all you can eat places. Axia has a wide range of Asian menu items and the ones we tried were all quite tasty. My friends eat here often and it's a nice meeting place to catch up with friends and have a few drinks and apps.


Visit again? Yes


10 Reviewed by (Age 40 - 59) on 2008-11-12
Dinner with a party of 3; waited 0 minute(s).
10Food 10Service 10Atmosphere
Great little Asian restaurant. Me, my wife and the kids choose this as one of our favourite local eating spots. A good menu for everyone and lots of great choices. Nice looking place, we advise you stop by if near by.


Visit again? Yes


10 Reviewed by (Age 26 - 39) on 2008-10-13
Dinner with a party of 5; waited 10 minute(s).
10Food 9Service 10Atmosphere
As an aspiring Asian chef, I don't give away good marks easily. Axia however, is a fun restaurant to visit & we appreciate that they do not use MSG in their menu. A good selection of food from across Asia including Pad Thai, Sushi, Galbi and even Dim Sum during lunch hours (haven't tried that one yet).


Visit again? Yes


10 Reviewed by (Age 40 - 59) on 2008-07-21
Dinner with a party of 4; waited 6 minute(s).
9Food 10Service 10Atmosphere
This place is our current regular dinner destination. We have great results with all the dishes ordered and the service is friendly and sincere. I don't know why reviews seem inconsistent, for us, Axia has been consistently awesome!


Visit again? Yes


3 Reviewed by (Age 19 - 25) on 2008-07-04
Dinner with a party of 8; waited 0 minute(s).
1Food 1Service 8Atmosphere
Just terrible! The food came out cold and the service was just slow and the place seemed very dirty. The menus were sticky. tables were wet and dirty.


Visit again? No


8 Reviewed by (Age 26 - 39) on 2007-08-22
Dinner with a party of 10+; waited 0 minute(s).
8Food 8Service 10Atmosphere
Okay, I've been here a couple times now and I know the quality of the food varies. You really need to know that unfortunately not all of the food here is all that good. They do however do a few things really well. This asian fusion restaurant has an intimidating menu. You can get, Chinese, Vietnamese, Thai, Malaysian, Japanese and/or Korean fare at this fine establishment. The decor is very nice and upscale, the service is friendly and welcoming and the food ranges from okay to very good. Unfortunately even the bad food is expensive for what you get. Being in a large party (over 16 people) I had the luxury of tasting a good percentage of the food on the menu. The Pad Thai should be avoided as it was too saucy and the flavor did nothing for me. By contrast the Thai Green curries (shrimp and chicken) were a delectible treat, dancing the Tango on my taste buds with a strong after taste of FIRE (not for the faint of heart). The Kalbi ribs were fantastic but then again Kalbi ribs are always fantastic. The Chow meins were above average but not enough to buckle my knees. There was a spicy chicken dish (chinese I believe) that is currently doing the fandango in my belly, but at the time had enough flavor and excitement to remove the panties off any date. (Just make sure to make a quick exit the next morning.) The sushi took a long time to arrive but the waitress gave us fair warning that it would be delayed and the look of being overwhelmed sprinted across the face of the lone sushi chef upon hearing our order of two large sushi boats was priceless. Once it had arrived it was...well sushi, raw fish and rice, tasty but nothing to rave over. Although somewhat pricey there is gold to be found at Axia, so happy hunting and keep clear of the bathroom for a few days following your visit. Perhaps not the best bang for your buck but it wouldn't stop me from returning.


Visit again? Yes


10 Reviewed by (Age 40 - 59) on 2007-07-02
Dinner with a party of 6; waited 0 minute(s).
10Food 10Service 10Atmosphere
Finally a great Asian restaurant in this end of Mississauga. A great place to relax and a wonderful assortment of Asian dishes with an authentic flavour.


Visit again? Yes


4 Reviewed by (Age Under 18) on 2007-06-29
Lunch with a party of 6; waited 5 minute(s).
3Food 7Service 6Atmosphere
Price is way too high. Taste is so so, just think it is not the right pricing on those food. I pay for the food, not only for service and atmosphere. Sorry for that.


Visit again? Yes


9 Reviewed by (Age 26 - 39) on 2007-06-08
Lunch with a party of 4; waited 3 minute(s).
9Food 9Service 9Atmosphere
The food is really good. Not like many cheap Chinese restaurant which food is more like sugar+fry. it is really good taste. Services is also very good. the food selection is huge. will come back!


Visit again? Yes


10 Reviewed by (Age 40 - 59) on 2007-05-02
Dinner with a party of 7; waited 15 minute(s).
10Food 10Service 10Atmosphere
Wonderful experience. Great selection and the food is always tasty. Almost 250 diff things! The thai curry is the best I've had. We visit Axia almost once a week now!


Visit again? Yes


10 Reviewed by (Age 40 - 59) on 2007-04-24
Dinner with a party of 5; waited 10 minute(s).
10Food 10Service 10Atmosphere
Everything was perfect. Friendly service, great food, will be back!


Visit again? Yes


3 Reviewed by (Age 26 - 39) on 2007-04-02
Dinner with a party of 2; waited 1 minute(s).
2Food 8Service 7Atmosphere
the food tastes like in a typical cheap chinese place, although the prices are quite high. won't ever go back.


Visit again? No


10 Reviewed by (Age 26 - 39) on 2006-12-18
Dinner with a party of 3; waited 0 minute(s).
10Food 8Service 10Atmosphere
After hearing moderately good comments about this restaurant I decided to try it. You wouldn’t think restaurants are that busy on weekdays, but this particular Thursday they were packed. This review is more about the service that I noticed than about the food. Upon arriving to Axia I noticed it to be unusually busy a girl in a blue kimono hurriedly came from the other side of the room to greet me at the door. After requesting a table she explained that it would be a wait, I have 2 fidgety kids and I knew that they wouldn’t want to wait. She apologized for the inconvenience and gave us a appetizer card to entice us to come back. I thought it was really sweet of her to take the time and interact with the kids kneeling down to talk with them and give them mints. I decided do take out instead, she went through a good bit of the menu with me before having to tend to other guests. I took an order of fried rice, general tao chicken, pad thai and spring rolls. I was informed by another lady at the desk that it would take 20 minutes, I dropped my kids home and returned expecting the order to be ready when in fact it wasn’t. The friendly girl in blue came to keep me company offered some tea or water while I waited. From there I took a seat and observed the busy restaurant. I heard a couple customers complain about the slow service and cold food, I saw only 3 servers working that night plus the hostess. At one time I saw the hostess fold menus while on the phone taking a reservation and then holding the bowl of mints for leaving customers and server handing to her in her other hand a pile of menus, talk about multitasking. Another big group came in and waited 10 minutes for a table to be cleared and set, the hostess went on to put the table together and set it and move seats from one end of the restaurant to the other and then coming back to the front in time for customers. I saw servers scurrying everywhere, seems like they need to get more help there. I was offered mints again from the hostess which I gladly obliged gave her a tip for her work and set off to eat. When I got home the food was great, the kids loved it, I would have appreciated it to be ready on time as it took an additional 10 minutes for it to get ready. It’s nice to see they had exceptionally friendly staff including the bartender. Restaurant did look clean; the music was a bit annoying and loud. The menu is huge and you would need to take your time to go through it all, the drinks selection is colourful and very enticing. As long as they get more staff I can see this restaurant succeeding the food is a bit expensive but the quality is great, I would gladly recommend this friendly experience to anyone.


Visit again? Yes


10 Reviewed by (Age 26 - 39) on 2006-12-07
Lunch with a party of 4; waited 0 minute(s).
10Food 10Service 10Atmosphere
Love this place... everything is just perfect!


Visit again? Yes


9 Reviewed by (Age Over 60) on 2006-12-02
Dinner with a party of 10+; waited 1 minute(s).
9Food 8Service 10Atmosphere
From first impressions, the decor was clean and unique. The choices on the menu were fantastic - something for everyone. We started with pizza sushi (a must try), smoothies and bubble teas, and each one in our group ordered a different dish which we all shared so we were able to eat at the same time and experience a variety of delicious menu items from several of the countries' menus. Everyone got what they ordered and enjoyed each dish. The service was a bit slow but being a new restaurant, the staff is still undergoing training. They now have a liquor licence and a variety of Asian beers were available. Everyone in the group was very pleased with their dining experience and several said they would return soon.


Visit again? Yes


10 Reviewed by (Age Over 60) on 2006-12-02
Dinner with a party of 4; waited 1 minute(s).
10Food 10Service 10Atmosphere
We ordered from the different menus and all of the dishes were delicious. We had never tried Bubble Teas or Smoothies before but what we ordered was so great and unique to any restaurant that we had been to that we are looking forward to going back to have some more of the sumptious drinks and food. Our waitress was attentive and friendly. The atmosphere calming with mood music to enjoy our meals. This restaurant is unique to Mississauga and it's a welcome addition to our area. Can't wait to go back.


Visit again? Yes


10 Reviewed by (Age 26 - 39) on 2006-11-18
Dinner with a party of 2; waited 2 minute(s).
10Food 10Service 10Atmosphere
I recently visited Axia after hearing rave reviews from friends. Definitely a refreshing change from what's offered in the near vicinity. The food was great and the service was attentive and friendly. I'd definitely go back.


Visit again? Yes


10 Reviewed by (Age 40 - 59) on 2006-11-17
Dinner with a party of 6; waited 5 minute(s).
10Food 10Service 10Atmosphere
Everything we ordered here came out just right. The menu is huge, but it seems like you can't go wrong no matter what you order. I liked the fact that they offer bubble tea on the menu, we all ended up getting some and it was probably the best bubble tea I've had in a long time. Price is good, service is good, place looks amazing, I'm coming back for sure!


Visit again? Yes


10 Reviewed by (Age Over 60) on 2006-11-13
Dinner with a party of 3; waited 0 minute(s).
10Food 9Service 10Atmosphere
Great food, excellent service. I really enjoy the sushi and thai at this place. Highly reccomended. This place is a one of a kind and has a great look and feel to it!


Visit again? Yes


6 Reviewed by (Age 26 - 39) on 2006-11-11
Dinner with a party of 3; waited 5 minute(s).
7Food 3Service 8Atmosphere
I took my father and sister to dinner on a Friday night based on my sister's high praise for Axia. The building itself is quite appealing, with natural woods and glass, which probably heightened my expectations. As we entered the restaurant, we were greeted by a young woman dressed in a light summer kimono, and the décor resembled a small street somewhere in a non-specific part of Asia with soft light from street-lamp style lighting (not quite bright enough to illuminate the tables), two large artificial trees, oversized rattan arm chairs and patio tables. Up to the point where we were seated, everything looked promising and was quite pleasant. When our waiter appeared with menus and we were given the chance to order drinks while we decided on our food. I ordered water, my father ginger ale and my sister an iced tea. The waiter returned with the water and the ginger ale but no iced tea. My father, my sister and I were engaged in conversation about her previous visit (for lunch) and how fantastic it was, as well as the large selection of appetizers and entrees (in contrast to the scant dessert menu). On his next pass, I asked the waiter about my sister’s iced tea, and he apologized that it was not yet ready. He returned 5 minutes later with the drink which was warm. I assumed that it was naturally because it was brewed iced tea and just hadn’t been cooled. After having tasted it however, I had to agree with my sister’s statement that it was from an iced tea mix. We sent it back to the bar with the waiter. My sister and I watched (and heard) the bartender tell the waiter: “Well she can either wait half an hour for it to cool down, or she can drink it like that.” The waiter returned with the same glass of warm iced tea and repeated what the bartender said. A little shocked that this is how a bartender would talk to a customer, my sister changed her order to a Sprite (which arrived cold, to her relief). That was the last we saw of our waiter until we asked for the check. The food itself was promising, owing to the four specialized kitchens in which each was prepared. We ordered gyoza and spicy shrimp sushi rolls as appetizers. My dad ordered his entrée from the Chinese menu (a chicken fried rice dish), my sister ordered from the Korean menu (beef bulgogi) and I ordered from the Japanese menu (chicken katsu). The appetizers took quite a while to arrive, and when they did, the gyoza was cold, and surprisingly not served with ponzu sauce. The spicy shrimp sushi rolls, however, were fantastic. Our entrees were tabled within 10 minutes of our appetizers. My father found his meal satisfactory, but nothing that he couldn’t get at Mandarin (flavour-wise). My sister’s meal was the tastiest and provided the most value (only a dollar more than my chicken katsu, and came with twice the food, including a plate of kimchi and other pickled vegetables, and portion of steamed rice. My chicken katsu was of the variety that is served in small sushi shops along Bloor in Toronto, except at almost twice the price, without steamed rice or salad with ginger dressing, and the chicken was a little on the dry side. We decided to pass on dessert—aside from the meagre selection, we were quite sure our ice cream would arrive warm or 30 minutes after we ordered it—and asked our waiter for the check. It took him close to 10 minutes to return with it, and as I paid with a credit card, I expected him to return to pick it up. We waited for another 10 minutes and no sign of our waiter, so we brought our check to the bar. There we noticed a waitress returning to the bar with a glass of iced tea and complaining to the bartender that the diner didn’t want it because it was warm. We then overheard him giving her the same response as he had our waiter give us…all while the restaurant manager stood not 3 feet away listening. After paying, my sister and I verified with him that he was in fact the restaurant manager, and we decided to share our grievances. I was impressed with his professionalism and manners, as he seemed eager to hear our suggestions, taking out a pen and a pad of paper. As our suggestion of serving cold iced tea or having brewed iced tea chilled, turned into complaints about wait times, cold food, poor service, bartenders that made extended personal phone calls while at the bar, and staff who stood by the door chatting and eating mints out of the bowl like they were popcorn, the manager put down his pen, folded his hands and put on his best “I care because I’m paid to” smile. As we exited the restaurant, one of the mint-poppers offered us a [rather bad-tasting] mint, stating that the blue ones tasted best.


Visit again? Maybe


10 Reviewed by (Age 26 - 39) on 2006-11-10
Dinner with a party of 3; waited 3 minute(s).
10Food 10Service 10Atmosphere
This place has truly authentic Asian food (coming from someone who has eaten Asian food all my life). They have separate kitchens for each cuisine. The concept is nice and although some of the waiters are new, they try very hard to give good service. I highly reccomend this place, you can't go wrong with any cuisine (Korean, Japanese, Thai, Chinese) and they have the best Bubble Tea in Mississauga!


Visit again? Yes


8 Reviewed by (Age Under 18) on 2006-11-07
Dinner with a party of 2; waited 2 minute(s).
9Food 8Service 8Atmosphere
It was great i went with my freind who payed. So I loved it i would go agian. go and try the place


Visit again? Yes


8 Reviewed by (Age 26 - 39) on 2006-11-05
Lunch with a party of 2; waited 1 minute(s).
8Food 8Service 6Atmosphere
I went here for lunch with a party of two. There was no wait to be seated in the place. The guy gave us our menus and took drink orders. He was too anxious to take orders without giving us a chance to review the menu. The place had annoying jazz music on too loud. The food was tasty, but expensive for the portions you get. Other tha the price and jazz music, it was ok.


Visit again? Yes


8 Reviewed by (Age 40 - 59) on 2006-10-05
Lunch with a party of 2; waited 0 minute(s).
8Food 7Service 8Atmosphere
The food was great and it was obvious that they use only the freshest of ingredients. Our waiter tried very very hard but I feel he should have had a little more training. I missed my soup for lunch and my tea was served after the bill. Also our meals were served at separate times. I will definitely be returning but after all the kinks have been straightened out. It was not cheap but the food was worth it


Visit again?


8 Reviewed by (Age 19 - 25) on 2006-10-05
Lunch with a party of 2; waited 0 minute(s).
9Food 7Service 8Atmosphere
This place is a nice, clean, new place near Erin Mills Town Center. The atmosphere is really cool. Although with the high ceilings I would imagine it could get loud in there with lots of people. The menu was amazing! It was fantastically presented, and there were SO many choices that it took us about 8 minutes just to read the whole thing. You can choose from Chinese, Japanese, Sushi, Korean, or Viet/Thai. They have lunch specials as well, which are cheaper than the rest of the menu (and the rest of the menu isn't cheap). I ordered a strawberry-banana smoothie which was yummy. Our food was not given to us all at the same time, so I was sitting there watching other people eat. Also, our waiter didn't bring my mom's tea until he brought the bill. He was trying hard, but they could use some better training. On the way out we were personally offered mints, which was a nice touch!


Visit again? Yes


8 Reviewed by (Age Under 18) on 2006-10-04
Dinner with a party of 5; waited 0 minute(s).
8Food 8Service 8Atmosphere
Pretty good place, serves Chinese/Japanese/Thai/Korean. Tried a variety of stuff and it all was good. Great curry.


Visit again? Yes


Not interested? Find more Mississauga restaurant reviews or more Asian restaurant reviews.



Home | About Us | News | Contact | Blog | Friends | Site Map

Copyright ResToronto Reviews 2012

1256 Yonge Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M2N 5M9